Louis Schmidt Award


The highest honor in BCA is to be selected a Louis Schmidt Laureate. Named for a founder and the second president of the Association this honor is bestowed "for outstanding contributions to the progress of biological communications."

Symbols of the Schmidt Award include the BCA key inset with a diamond and the Gold Headed Cane - a traditional symbol in medicine of high achievement and honor. A committee of the nine most recent Schmidt laureates makes the selection of the recipient subject to approval by the Executive Committee.

Selection Criteria

This award is bestowed for exceptional contributions made during an extended career and over a period of time that may still be ongoing. Louis Schmidt laureates are selected according to the four core criteria listed below:

  • Recognition of outstanding contributions to the progress of communications within the life sciences
  • Promotion of understanding and cooperation within the field of biocommunications
  • Maintenance of an ethical approach to professional relationships
  • Willingness to freely share technical information

Nomination Process

Nominations are welcomed and may be submitted by anyone. Nomination forms can be downloaded here. All nominations should be directed to the current Schmidt Committee Chair or the Committee Secretary.

A formal nomination requires sponsorship by a Louis Schmidt Laureate. This sponsorship can be sought from any Louis Schmidt Laureate, it does not have to be sponsored by a current member of the Schmidt Committee. The Schmidt committee is composed of the nine most recent Schmidt laureates, this group makes the final selection of the recipient. 

Schmidt Laureates

* Current member of the Louis Schmidt Award Committee

1980 - 1960
  • 1980 Fritz W. Goro, FBPA
  • 1979 Donald H. Fritts, RBP, FBPA
  • 1978 John P. Vetter, RBP, FBPA
  • 1977 Lardner A. Coffey, RBP, FBPA
  • 1976 Charles P. Hodge, RBP, FBPA
  • 1975 E. Lynn Baldwin, RBP, FBPA
  • 1974 Roger P. Loveland, FBPA
  • 1973 Stanley Klosevych, RBP, DpIRMS, FBPA
  • 1972 Clifford L. Freehe, RBP, FBPA
  • 1971 Stephen P. Dittmann, RBP, FBPA
  • 1970 Verlin Y. Yamamoto, RBP, FBPA
  • 1969 Laurence B. Brown, RBP, FBPA
  • 1968 Chester F. Reather, RBP, FBPA
  • 1967 not awarded
  • 1966 John V. Butterfield, FBPA
  • 1965 Howard E. Tribe, RBP, FBPA
  • 1964 Peter Hansell, MD, RBP, FBPA
  • 1963 Maria E. Ikenberg, RBP, FBPA
  • 1962 Stanley J. McComb, RBP, FBPA
  • 1961 Warren Sturgis, RBP, FBPADownload program
  • 1960 H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA
2000 - 1980
  • 1999 Richard M. Williams, FBPA
  • 1998 Heather Angel, DSC, FRPS, FBIPP
  • 1997 Ronald F. Irvine, RBP, FBPA
  • 1996 Kenneth V. Michaels, FBPA
  • 1995 Dan R. Patton, RBP, FBPA
  • 1994 Wilmer Renner, RBP, FBPA
  • 1993 A. Robin Williams, PhD, DGPPh, FISTC, FRMS, FRPS, FIMI, FBIPP, FBPA
  • 1992 Nicholas M. Graver, RBP, FBPA
  • 1991 Robert F. Sisson, RBP, FBPA
  • 1990 Raymond E. Lund, RBP, FBPA
  • 1989 Thomas P. Hurtgen, FBPA
  • 1988 Ralph Marshall, PhD, FRPS, FBIPP
  • 1987 Martin L. Scott, FBPA
  • 1986 Nile Root, RBP, FBPA
  • 1985 Leon J. LeBeau, FBPA, FIMBI
  • 1984 Percy Brooks, RBP, FBPA
  • 1983 H. Paul Newman, RBP, FBPA
  • 1982 Leslie Bowcock, MB, ChB, AIMBI
  • 1981 I. Lloyd Matlovsky, RBP, FBPA
1960 - 1940
  • 1960 H. Lou Gibson, RBP, FBPA
  • 1959 Paul H. Holinger, MD, FBPA
  • 1958 Albert Levin, RBP, FBPA
  • 1957 Lloyd E. Varden, RBP, FBPA
  • 1956 Mervin W. LaRue, Sr., FBPA
  • 1955 C. Graham Eddy, FBPA
  • 1954 Ferdinand R. Harding, RBP, FBPA
  • 1953 Oscar W. Richards, PhD, FBPA
  • 1952 Leonard A. Julin, RBP, FBPA
  • 1951 Ralph P. Creer, FBPA
  • 1950 Stella Zimmer, FBPA
  • 1949 Anne Shiras, FBPA
  • 1948 Leo C. Massopust, FBPA